

# Send in Your DAPHNE-NORMA LEADERSHIP AWARD Nominations Soon!

#### History

Your assistance is needed in selecting a person or couple for the Daphne-Norma Leadership Award, which is presented at Dance-O-Rama. The Western NY Federation of Square and Round Dancers Inc. sponsors Dance-O-Rama, but itdoes not govern, sponsor or present the Daphne-Norma Award. It is governed by and presented by the award's Selection Committee. The committee needs you to nominate people you feel meet the criteria for the Award.

### **Award Guidelines**

The leadership award was established in 1977 by John Fink and Frank Salvaggio, in honor of their wives, Daphne and Norma. The purpose of the award is to show appreciation for EXTENSIVE AND SUSTAINED LEADERSHIP OVER AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF YEARS in square, round or contra dancing. Leadership, service and motivation are considered when evaluating candidates for this award. A candidate need not demonstrate leadership in all areas, nor is each area given equal consideration. Areas of leadership may include (but are not limited to) years of dancing, cueing or calling; membership; committee service or officer role in any of the following: Square, Round or Contra club; Rochester Area Federation; Promenader; Dance-O-Rama; NYS or national associations; promoting the activity through calling, cueing or teaching, and other leadership roles which benefit the community through the dance activity; and finally, the candidate's attitude and continuing willingness to take on responsibilities in the dancing community. An individual or couple may receive the award only once. The award may not be given if the Selection Committee unanimously agrees no one has met the criteria. Anyone in the dancing community is welcome to nominate people for the Leadership Award.

# **Questions You Might Have**

Q: Who is the Selection Committee? The award originators initially functioned as permanent Selection Committee members. But because the Salvaggios and the Finks are not active in the dance community anymore, Frank Salvaggio asked Walt & Sally Baechle, and John & Daphne Fink asked Andy & Betty Ludwick, to be permanent members on the committee. (Walt passed away on October 3, 2000.) In 2017, Betty & Andy Ludwick passed the honor on to Sharon & Chuck Meyer. The most recent three recipients form the remainder of the committee.

Q: **How do people get nominated?** Anyone in the dance community can nominate a candidate. This is done by sending information about the candidate's qualifications to the Selection Committee, before the end of February. You may use the nomination form on this website.

Q: What is the status of people previously nominated, but not selected? Candidates previously nominated generally stay in consideration for future years. However, new or updated information should be sent. There is nothing wrong with sending in another nomination with current info, and encouraging others to add their nomination.

# **Ballot information**

Please include as much of the following as possible:

- 1) Name and address of recommended couple
- 2) Years of dancing, calling and/or cueing
- 3) Club participation, offices held, etc.

4) Participation in local organizations (both dance and other)

5) Participation in state organizations (both dance and other)

6) Participation in national organizations (both dance and other)

7) Other leadership roles (not only dancing but community service)

8) Miscellaneous information (anything else that might be relevant)

And be sure to include your own name, club, and e-mail and/or phone.

Your INPUT is very important! TELL US ABOUT the person or couple you wish to nominate by dropping us a note — the sooner, the better!

Please email nominations and any questions to Anne Granger and Don Naulin (Email: <u>ssunnyweather7@gmail.com</u> or <u>naulin@netzero.net</u>)